TIBCO: Overview & New TB0-126 Examination

You may have heard that TIBCO has retired its Enterprise Message Service(tm), 7 exam (TB0-125), on May 15, 2014. Its replacement, TIBCO Enterprise Message Services(tm), 8 exam (TB0-126), was released two days later. Before we get into the details of this exam, let’s take a look at TIBCO’s certification program and give our thoughts on it.
Light on TIBCO
TIBCO, an American software company, is based in Palo Alto (yes, another one from Silicon Valley). TIBCO offers software that companies can use on-premises as well as in cloud computing environments to manage data, decisions, and applications. The company’s market capitalization is reportedly more than $5 billion.
TIBCO was founded in 1997 and specializes in infrastructure software. It primarily focuses in real-time communication for B2B/C and B2E data transfer, as well as facilitation of communication among otherwise incompatible software. TIBCO’s most well-known products include TIBCOActivMatrix and TIBCO Datagrid, TIBCO Enterprise Message Services, TIBCO FTL and TIBCO LogLogic.
TIBCO Certification Program
TIBCO Certifications are a way to validate the competence of holders in the design, development, deployment and administration TIBCO’s infrastructure and application technologies. There are three levels to the TIBCO certification pathway:
TTP – TIBCO Trained Professional
TCP – TIBCO Certified Professional
TCA – TIBCO Certified Architect
A candidate must meet a few requirements to become a TTP.
To have attended TIBCO Training
Passed online Knowledge Assessment
Available for most TIBCO Courses
TCP (TIBCO-certified Professional) is the next credential. There are several corresponding exams.
NEW: TIBCO Enterprise Message Service(tm) 8 exam (NEW)
TIBCO – Architecting Complex-Event Processing Solutions
TIBCO – Architecting Composite Applications and Services
TIBCO ActiveMatrix BusinessWorks ™ 5
TIBCO Rendezvous(r) 8
TIBCO ActiveMatrix (r) BPM Solution Design
TIBCO BusinessEvents(r), 5
NEW: TIBCO Enterprise Message Services(tm), 8 Exam
The New TB0-126 exam consists 64 questions that candidates must answer in 90 minutes. The minimum passing score of 62% is required to pass the exam. The TIBCO Enterprise Message Service(tm), 8 exam validates your ability to create and manage a TIBCO Enterprise Message Service 8 messaging system of average complexity with minimal supervision. Candidates who are successful will be able identify the key architectural features and what role Enterprise Message Service plays in a messaging solution. A qualified candidate will be able, with the necessary configuration details, to develop simple Enterprise Message Service apps, manage an Enterprise Message Service install, and understand its capabilities.
TIBCO recommends that candidates have a minimum of one year of experience in Enterprise Application Integration development. Candidates should also have solid knowledge of Unix or Windows, Networking (TCP/IP and Multicast), SSL, JNDI, exposure for Message Oriented Middleware such as C, C#, Java coding ability, Oracle JMS Specification 1.1 and general experience with database systems.
According to TIBCO’s official website, TB0-126 exam objectives and topics are as follows (please see TIBCO’s official website for more details):
Architecture and Design
Destination Bridging
Naming Services
Load Balancing
Performance Tuning
Data Store
Application Development
Programming Model
TIBCO recommends these reading and reference resources as part of exam preparation:
TIBCO Enterprise Message Services: User’s Guide and Central Administration. Installation and Configuration.
Installation and Referenc